Indian Spiced Stuffed Peppers

Regrettably, I didn’t take any pics of these spur-of-the-moment peppers.  I’ll admit, it was 9 o’clock at night, I was tired, I was starving and just wanted to EAT them.  I’ll be making them again, so maybe next time I can control myself for 5 minutes and snap a few pics.

4 green bell peppers, tops cut off and seeded

2 cups shredded cooked chicken (I used a couple of baked thighs, but any piece cooked just about any way will work–it’s all up to you)

1 cup  brown rice (cooked according to package directions)

At least 4 cups of Spiced Cauliflower Soup 

2 medium red bell peppers, seeded and diced

1 cup spicy salsa

Cook brown rice according to package directions.

Preheat oven to 350.

While rice is cooking, in a medium saucepan, cook the red peppers in 1 cup of the spiced cauliflower soup.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cover.  Cook for about 5 minutes.  Set aside.

Cook the green pepper shells in boiling water for about 5 minutes (or until barely soft) and drain.  Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, mix chicken, rice (you may not use all of it depending of your feelings about rice), red peppers (in their cooking sauce) and more spiced cauliflower soup until you have the desired consistency of filling.  Personally, I like things a bit saucy, so I added extra soup, but you can tailor the amount you add to suit your preference.

Place green peppers in a flameproof casserole dish, open end up.  Spoon mixture into shells.  Pour a little spiced cauliflower soup over the top of the peppers and top each with 1/4 cup of spicy salsa.

Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Leave a comment